The moments after an accident can be scary, especially when you’re uncertain about which steps to take following a collision. For this reason, our injury lawyer for car accidents has provided information on how to report an accident and when it’s required by law in Louisiana to have a police report filed.
The Law Offices of Blaine Barrilleaux has helped countless individuals in Louisiana understand their legal options and receive any compensation they may be entitled to receive. With our legal experience and understanding of this form of law, you can trust our firm to help you with the legal process.
To learn how to report a vehicle accident and how our team can help you after a wreck, read our helpful tips below.
When Do You Need to File a Police Report?
Many drivers are unaware of when they need to file a police report after a collision. In some cases, filing a report may not be necessary. However, it’s imperative to know when a report is required by law in the state of Louisiana.
In Louisiana, drivers must file a report if the accident involves:
- Any form of injury
- Property damage that exceeds $500 or more
If the accident does meet the conditions mentioned above, then the motorist will also be required to have a written report submitted to the Louisiana Department of Public Safety and Corrections (DPSC). The report has to be sent to the DPSC within 24 hours of the accident.
The written report should contain the following information:
- The name, address, phone number, and driver’s license numbers of all drivers involved in the accident.
- Insurance information
- License plate and registration information
- Any information regarding the accident such as the location where the collision occurred, weather conditions, date and time, and any other details that may help.
If you have any questions about writing this report, make sure to contact your local police station. If you fail to report an automobile accident that meets the state requirements, you could potentially face fines and/or imprisonment.
Benefits of Reporting an Accident
While a police report may appear to be a hassle, it can be beneficial to protecting your legal rights. Some of the benefits our injury lawyer for car accidents sees from reporting a collision include:
It Can Help Determine Fault
Sometimes it’s difficult to determine who is at fault for an accident without any supporting evidence. A police report will typically have the opinion of the police as to what caused the accident and who is at fault.
It Can Be Used as Evidence
A written report can help support a claim and can be used as evidence. Evidence is crucial, especially if legal action needs to be taken to seek compensation for injuries and property damage. This can include photographs of the accident scene, witness statements, and any injuries that occurred.
It Can Impact Your Legal Rights
A police report can help protect your legal rights. In some cases, a vehicle accident may result in compensation to help cover damages. Without a police report, it can make it challenging to seek a financial settlement since the report can be used to support your claim. For this reason, it’s important that you have a report if the conditions meet Louisiana’s state laws.
While reporting an accident can be time-consuming and strenuous, it can be beneficial and may help protect your legal rights.
Lafayette Car Accident Resources
Our injury lawyers for car accidents are passionate about serving our community. For this reason, we have provided a list of resources to help you after an accident.
- For emergencies- 911
- For non-emergencies- (337) 291-8600
- For emergencies- 911
- For non-emergencies- (337) 291-5506
Need Legal Advice? Contact Our Law Firm to Learn About Your Legal Options.
The Law Offices of Blaine Barrilleaux is dedicated to helping those involved in an automobile accident. With our legal guidance, you can trust our team to help you with your claim.
While many accident cases are often handled between insurance companies, there are cases when legal action may be necessary. If this is the case, it’s essential to have an injury lawyer for car accidents handle the legal aspects of your claim. Our team is available to answer any questions or concerns pertaining to your accident.
If you or a loved one were injured in an accident due to a careless driver, you may be entitled to compensation. Compensation can help cover property damage, medical expenses, lost wages, and more. Keep in mind, this type of case is time-sensitive, and waiting to seek legal help may result in little to no compensation. To learn more about your legal options, call our office at (337) 989-1212 or fill out our contact form.